OnlineConversion Forums Welcome to OnlineConversion.com Forums

Go Back   OnlineConversion Forums > Main Forums > Convert and Calculate

Convert and Calculate Post any conversion related questions and discussions here. If you're having trouble converting something, this is where you should post.
* Guest Posting is allowed.

Old 10-23-2008, 04:25 PM
TomS

Default Tenths to feet & inches.

I'm new to the site, and want to say Thanks! It's a great tool.
I work in the excavation field, but haven't really used my math skills in many years due to overzealous foremen wanting all the "glory"...
This new job I just got recently allows me to use all my talents, including my fine grading and pipelaying skills. Trouble is, I'm a bit "embarrased" to admit to the foreman I have now that my conversion knowledge is a bit weak and limited.
Yesterday I fudged my way through a situation where I was shooting grades and installing a catch basin. The grade was established for us, all we had to do was follow it. The foreman did all the calculations, but I want to be able to stand on my own and also do layout as needed.
He asked me to set the lazer grade rod at 6.65...(gulp) I wung it and set it at 6' 6 1/2" (six feet, six & a half inches)...and it was a close guess...I guess. Then he asked me to go to 8.15, and I guessed it at 8' 1 1/2".
Can someone clarify how many 10th are in a foot, and give me a couple of simple examples to ease my simple mind?

Thanks in advance...
Old 10-23-2008, 07:12 PM
Long Time Member The Golden Calculator Award Over 5000 Posts

JohnS will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Tenths to feet & inches.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomS
I work in the excavation field, but haven't really used my math skills in many years due to overzealous foremen wanting all the "glory"...